Engaged in the Mission Series: Trevor Davis

A perk of being on staff with Cru is the connections I get to make.

Many times a year I get to connect with people that are engaged in the mission of Christ and that God is using in meaningful ways across the world.

Often times, I am thinking about what I have learned from others and think many can benefit from these conversations. With that in mind, I am starting a series called, “Engaged in the Mission” to share the insight from conversations I have throughout the year.

Recently, I asked Trevor Davis, a teammate of mine here at Oklahoma State the following questions. Here is what he said…

1) What keeps you engaged in the mission over time?

 I try and spend time every month re-aligning my heart to the call that God has given my life. I also seek out encouragement from peers and mentors to keep me focused and energized to stay engaged in the mission.

2) What is the biggest thing you have learned about God in the past 6 months and how does that inspire you to stay focused on the mission?

God’s provision for His people. If God wants you to be involved in a specific facet of the mission He will make that very clear and provide ample opportunities and resources to allow you that joy. That fact that God has provided me resources and opportunities to play a small role in the mission gives me energy and excitement. I view it as being faithful to what God has given me.

3) What practical tips have helped you carve our time for investing in others?

The first thing for me is understanding the importance of intentional investment of people.  Our society is becoming more and more relationally focused, thus the need for people to be invested in is HUGE!  This mindset allows me to focus the needed time and energy into investing in others. I look at my schedule and see what time commitments are pre-set in my schedule by my employer, from there I see what time I have to invest in those in my life. I am an introvert but I know the importance of investing in others thus I try to schedule “My Time” around intentional time with others. I might get exhausted at times but I firmly believe that the eternal investment in others will bring God and others great joy in the long run.  Keeping an “Eternal Perspective”!

4) Have any resources helped you share your faith more effectively?

One resource is called the Perspective Cards and another is called Soularium. These are both easy and interactive ways to have a personal conversation with someone and transition it to a spiritual conversation.

Another article that has helped me keep a conversation Gospel-minded is Transitions to the Gospel. This uses a theory similar to the 7 degrees of separation and adapts it to Gospel conversations.

5) What prevents you from engaging with people around you? How have you combated that?

Selfishness or pride is the biggest hurdle that stands in my way of engaging with people around me. I think, “Oh, there are more important things I need or could be doing”.

But among you it will be different. Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, 27 and whoever wants to be first among you must become your slave. 28 For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.” Matthew 20:26-28  

I look at this verse and feel conviction about how we are supposed to live as followers of Christ. Like I said I have to first understand the importance of this part of my life and then respond accordingly.  Finding encouragement in the small things that come from investing in others is a huge boost of confidence and energy towards this area of life! 

Thanks Trevor for your legacy here at OSU and for sharing what God is teaching you.

Leave a Reply

