How I Failed Leading OkState Cru’s Weekly Meeting (and what I learned from it)

It’s Thursday night in Stillwater, Oklahoma. It’s August, smack dab in the middle of welcome week. As a student, you have had more pizza, koozies, and croakies given to you than you can carry. The flier you received from Cru is leading you and your two friends to wander around campus trying to find the Animal Science building. Walking in the doors, you are greeted by random students and awkwardly small talk. At 8:00, a student kicks open the doors and belts “Welcome to Cru!” You walk in, sit down and listen to two students give vision, the worship team sing a few songs, and the leader of Cru share the gospel and explain what he hopes God will do. As you leave you will reflect on how the meeting went. At some point in the next week, you will consider, “Do I want to go back to Cru Thursday night?”


Failed Cru Meeting Qutoe 1

This same question is the question that consumed my mind for the first month on campus. This fall was my first year at OkState Cru and I was asked to lead the weekly meeting. As I processed the implications, my number one fear was that I was going to fail in creating a weekly meeting that students wanted to come back to. Wrestling with the idea that my value is dependent on my success, I felt a ton of stress to perform my job well. My response to this stress was the biggest mistake I made during my first semester.

As I worked to plan the weekly meeting, I recruited a team of five students to help me plan and execute the meeting. My mistake was asking them for opinions and then ramming through the planning, details, and execution of the Cru meeting without involving the students again. I showed up to Cru each week, barked out commands and then got frustrated when I felt the student leadership team wasn’t buying into the vision of Cru. After many conversations with many people about this, I realized the error I had made. I talked about empowering students, however when the “bullets began to fly,” I hoarded the responsibilities and tasks to myself. I apologized to the team and then worked to correct the mistake I made.

Failed Cru Meeting Quote 2

Here are 5 Things about Empowering Leaders that I learned:

1. It’s Difficult 

The most difficult part about empowering is that you have to give up control. For me, this involved giving up the idea that I was the only one that could execute the plan well. This also involves accepting that things might not go exactly the way you want. However, giving up control in this manner is vital for the success of any leader.

2. It’s Necessary 

Alignment for any team is vital to its success. However, when one person is the only one calling the shots, it is impossible for the others on the team to be on the same page. You have to delegate and empower those around you to succeed.

3. It Takes Intentionality

You have to focus on including your team or you never will. The easiest course of action is to do all of the tasks by yourself. What contributed most to my situation was my lack of intentionality to include my team. I didn’t make it a priority.

4. It Takes a Plan 

Once you are making a point to include others on your team, you have to figure out the details for how you are going to successfully collaborate. For our team, it started with meeting for an hour on Wednesday morning and then coming to Cru an hour before it started to run through the details.

5. It Creates Alignment 

Once we started meeting as a team and collaborating the plan for each week, the planning of the weekly meeting became easier. We were on the same page, working well to accomplish the vision of the weekly meeting. Something that was frustrating was now a source of joy.

If you are a student leading a team of others, learn from the mistakes I made when I didn’t empower my team. Use these five ideas to help you empower the team around you.

2 comments

  1. Colt Higgs · · Reply

    Good article. Exactly right. It’s weird but sometimes “letting go” somewhat and delegating feels like you are being “less of a leader” on the surface but deep down its the key! Maybe this next analogy isn’t good but it’s somewhat like this. Think of empowering others as the old saying; catch a man a fish and feed him for a day, teach him to fish and you feed him for a lifetime

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think that is a good analogy. When you do not delegate you are doing everything for the person (Catching fish). Although someone may feel the joy of being involved with something meaningful, they miss out on how to replicate it in their own life (learning to fish). I think my job and your job as a coach has a few aspects to it. One of them is no doubt, preparing students to lead well when they move on out of our influence. You can’t do it without delegating well.

      I would love to have you tell an example of this from your coaching career!

      Like

Leave a Reply

